Cow Milk Alternatives.

As promised, I would begin blogging once again. Yay for that! I have decided to do milk alternatives tonight. I have alot of friends who I did not know had a lactose allergy. A friend of mine bought almond milk before I did and said it was actually really good. Hope ya’ll don’t mind my spill on milk alternatives!

I have started to venture off into the “out of norm” for my diet lately. I have to start off by saying, I cannot stand almonds or coconut to EAT. I can’t deal with the textures of them. BUT. For some reason, I am really really starting to like…actually, LOVE almond and coconut milk. I have found 2 that are particularly my favorites. I have tried many of them, but only 2 stayed within my favorites. My favorite almond milk is the brand Califia. It’s not too pricey and it tastes great. It’s GMO free, of course, and gluten free as well. DOUBLE WHAMMY. The milk runs about $3.45 at a Natural Grocers. I’m not sure of what other places are like, since I’ve only seen it at Natural Grocers. It’s only 60 calories per serving and it’s just awesome! It’s even more calcium infused than regular milk, which is another reason I love this stuff. I suffered from an injury in Afghanistan, while I was deployed, and since making a change in my diet when it comes to milk, I feel much better! I make this great shake each morning with my almond milk and it’s so much better, in my opinion, with almond, rather than cows milk.

Best Almond Milk! $3.45 roughly per bottle.

Best Almond Milk! $3.45 roughly per bottle.

Another great milk alternative is coconut milk. I will let y’all know now…I use to HATE coconut with a passion. They say your tastebuds change as you get older. Well, I’m glad my tastebuds actually kicked in and started liking coconut! The brand I get, and ONLY get is called So Delicious. It’s GMO free and gluten free as well. It’s delish! I have started off with the coconut milk flavored with vanilla to start. I have not tried the plain coconut milk yet. So Delicious has chocolate coconut milk as well! SO FABULOUS! I have been hooked ever since. I’ll be posting a picture of it, so you all know what it looks like. For some reason, I can’t get my media inserts to work right now.

I am sorry I didn’t post this on Sunday like I said. Life got in the way and I had no internet due to a bad storm that just went through my city. I’m back on officially! Hope to see ya’ll and your feedback. Let me know if you find any other awesome milk alternatives!

Stay healthy,

~ Jillian

Leave a Reply

