Are you ‘Fed Up’?

Are you fed up yet?

Recently, I watched a GREAT documentary called ‘Fed Up’. I highly recommend anyone to watch it. As you all know, I am a HUGE geek when it comes to food, nutrition and exercise. This touched on all of those things, especially food and nutrition. The documentary is narrated by Katie Couric. Even though I am not a fan of hers, she does point out many great points of what is going on in our food system and what should and could be done to our food system. This is the documentary the food industry doesn’t want you to see.

There are 4 children who suffer from obesity in this documentary. My heart goes out to them. The first kid explained and KNEW why he was becoming obese.Children NEED nutrition and they won’t get it from eating processed foods. Diabetes is sky rocketing in today’s generation. It has been increasing year to year and it is so sad to see children have diabetes, whom are 14 or 16 years of age. Not everyone knows how to eat right, or exercise. Things are way to convenient when it comes to cooking a meal. Everyone either has no time, or they are too lazy to cook.

Many people say that eating organic is too expensive and they can’t afford it. However, what they don’t realize is that eating organic IS INDEED cheaper than eating processed, unhealthy foods. I understand that there are people who cannot afford to eat organic, but honestly, you buy organic and COOK your own meals, it WILL be cheaper. Prepping meals for the week and buying in bulk saves a lot of time and money for you. I am living proof that it does work if you put for the effort. I save an average of about $85 a month in food due to cooking my own meals. However, my household is just my dog and I. Feeding a family of 4 can be pricey.

I will be putting together a template ( hopefully soon ) about how to budget your food bills and save money. Stay tuned!

~ Jillian

Leave a Reply

